Posted in Uncategorized

What happened to feedback?

Is it just me or do you rarely get feedback anymore?

Years ago references for jobs changed where “you couldn’t give a bad reference” however, if you receive just confirmation of work dates you immediately think something is up – which, is a problem in itself as some companies may contact head office instead of the outlet who will only give dates.  Bad start.

In some jobs and industries there is so much networking and contact between various companies people already know each other and have had conversations before anyone has even applied for a job.  Or, some jobs are created for particular people! This is fine for the person who is in mind but not for anyone else who applies.  They will get a no thanks but no real reason as to why they are not ideal for the role.

Then there are jobs and industries where it is straight forward, a job is created or someone leaves a current role so the company advertises for someone new.  Many people apply, interviews happen, one person is chosen and starts as soon as they can.  All simple and completely straight forward? Hopefully sometimes but doubtful.

Having been on all sides it is not an easy process.  From being the interviewer to the interviewee and all in-between – yes, there are people in-between who may be asked to look at CVs or even sit in interviews for various reasons even though they may not be directly related to the role in mind.  Interviewing is difficult but it doesn’t have to be.

My main issue is feedback.  I had to interview for one of my team once and the person had been pre-interviewed by HR.  (The same HR who provided interview training)  Great, I thought, I will only have to ask more technical questions related to the role and give scenarios to ensure they understand what the role would entail.  Unfortunately the person arrived not dressed appropriately and within the first minute told me a story of shouting at their line manager across the office.  Wow.

If I do not get a role and receive the standard “thanks but no thanks” e-mail I ask for further information on why as it will always help me improve.  I thought this was common sense, surely if someone genuinely wants to improve they will ask for honest feedback?  I don’t know.  So far I’ve had a rejection 3 times recently.  Only once have I received some honest feedback even though I asked all 3 for it (1 being public sector!) None ever met me and only received references, details of what I can do which matched over and above what they were looking for and information on me.  Unfortunately I’ve no idea where I went wrong and why I wasn’t suitable to meet.

If I am asked for feedback, I will always be honest whether it is what people want to hear or not – anything negative is worded as an improvement into a positive.  It means the person can improve, they may not choose to but I feel I have done my bit.  Plus, there is nothing worse than you not saying anything and then someone else stating the obvious! A bit like when you don’t tell that person they have spinach in their teeth!

Do you always get feedback?  Do you always give feedback?  If not, why not?  Is it due to a lack of time or just not sure what to say? I’d love to hear from you, let me know your thoughts.

Seeing up your own business and feeling a bit disorganised?  Get in touch via E-mail or Phone as I’d love to hear how I can help you with your business.

Author:

Owner of Starfish Organisers Ltd, an organiser for your home, work or when life changes.

Leave a Reply

