Posted in Startup

#myhappyyear in review

For those who don’t know, on 1st January 2016 I started posting a daily picture on Instagram under the tag #myhappyyear and #happy2016 and have continued to do so each day for the rest of 2016.

My idea started on New Years Day 2016. 2013, 2014 and 2015 were not the best of years with several close friends and relatives passing away so, I decided that 2016 was going to be a happy year (no one passed away in the December before or in January so that was a good start).  My Dad’s speech at my wedding in 2014 was mainly about being happy and the most important thing is doing what makes you happy each day so, after losing him suddenly in January 2015 when over 6 months pregnant I decided to make life as happy as I can.

I’ll be honest, when I started it, it seemed quite easy, each day appreciating something different from a holiday to a dog walk, from something which made me laugh to a great meal but there were days when I sometimes forgot to take a picture, getting caught up and enjoying the moment instead.  This was a good thing, although more and more pictures are being taken it is a great feeling to put the phone down and just enjoy life.

It’s the first year in a long time which hasn’t flown by.  Previously each year has felt like it is flying by faster and faster but, taking a step back and appreciating at least 1 thing everyday in 2016 has slowed it down.

I’ve had mostly positive and some negative comments about doing it which is fine, everyone has different opinions.  What made me continue were the people who said how much they loved my posts, how the posts made them happy and how much they enjoyed seeing my pictures each day. One thing I’ve learnt about myself is that I just want to help people; whether personally, I help them to be happier or in their work I work with them to achieve their goals.

Sounds corny right?  That is probably why I didn’t fit in the Corporate world but this is me, just wanting to help everyone to enjoy life as much as possible.  This is what I aim to do through my work albeit I ask for money in return for it but, I help people achieve their goals and improve and transform their lives and I enjoy every minute of it.

One person asked what will happen after day 365, what happens in 2017?

The answer? Day 365 is the last day.  I’ve enjoyed this year and will continue to post on social media but not everyday, it’s been great to get into a habit of appreciating something everyday.  I love that my posts have made people happy but it’s time to spend less time on social media.

Want to be happy, feel like life is flying by but you have goals you want to achieve? Get in touch via e-mail or phone and look out for a brand new plan as to how I can help you too coming soon.

Author:

Owner of Starfish Organisers Ltd, an organiser for your home, work or when life changes.

6 thoughts on “#myhappyyear in review

  1. Sarah, I have followed you throughout 2016 and thoroughly enjoyed doing so. My Facebook feed will be poorer without your daily posts but you have inspired me to do similar for 2017. As you say, appreciating something every day is so positive.
    Thank you for being inspirational and motivational!
    Will you continue with wordpress blog? xxxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

